Skip to content

I Must Be Out of My Mind!

October 22, 2008

In addition to all of the things that have kept me from blogging recently, I decided to participate in NaNoWriMo this November. 

So, despite the full-time job, the 5 hours of physical therapy that I’m enduring each week, the weekly dinner with the folks, and the other assorted time suckage…I decide I’m going to challenge myself to turn off my inner editor (she’s really not happy about that) when I’m not at work and spend most of my free minutes trying to crank out 50,000 words in 30 days.

I’m doing this mostly so I can learn to tell my inner editor to shut up.  In my 9-5, I don’t have that luxury and she is a very important part of my day.  So when it’s my time, not my job’s time, my inner editor thinks she must scrutinize every syllable that I write.  I must be taught how to turn her off and she must realize that sometimes I need her silence while other times I absolutely rely on her to keep my words on point.

So, while I’m pretty sure I’m setting out on a losing proposition here…I’m going to give it my all and hope my inner editor learns something in the process.  Goddess help me.

Comments are closed.

