Skip to content

The Look

March 6, 2008

I just ran out of the office to grab a bite at a local lunch joint.  While standing in line waiting for my order number to be called, I got The Look from a skinny person who was also waiting for their order.  Fat people will know The Look to which I am referring.

It’s that look that says, “OMG, what are you doing here?  You shouldn’t be eating anything at all.  Go hide yourself because I don’t want to be seen getting food at the same place as a fat, gluttonous blob.”

Several years ago I started mirroring The Look back at those assholes who were shooting it at me like daggers.  It works REALLY well.

When they aim that look at you, stare them right in the eyes and deflect it back.  Give them a look that says, “OMG, what are you doing here?  Sizeists like you shouldn’t be allowed out in public.  I don’t want to be seen getting food at the same place as a self-righteous bigot.”

I’ve never mirrored back that look without leaving the instigator purposely looking away from me, usually staring at their feet sporting a look of shame. 

Comments are closed.

