Skip to content

A Fat Person Eating a Salad–You Must Be Dieting!

February 21, 2008

Over the course of the long President’s Day weekend, I roasted a chicken (roasters were on sale at the grocery store).  It could not have turned out more perfectly.  Being a single gal, that means I had lots of leftovers.  So I reserved what white meat was left for topping green salads and I turned the dark meat into chicken salad (with apples and onions and cider vinegar…yum).  I’ve been alternating between the two for lunches this week.

Yesterday, I had the salad for lunch.  I love salads.  I’m not a big fan of cooked veggies, but I loves me some raw veggies. 

After lunch, a coworker (who knows my stance on fat acceptance) came into my office and asked me if I was on a diet.  Because, you know, a fat person can’t eat a scrumptious salad topped with her leftover chicken without being on a diet.   I, of course, told her that she should know better than to think I was on a diet.  Her response, “Well, things change sometimes.”  I assured her that this was one thing about me that was not going to change.  I’m emphatically anti-diet.

You don’t spend years learning to love who you are only to turn around and hurt yourself again.  Diets are hurtful.  I am a much better and happier person having left diets in the dust.  And yes, you can be fat and eat a salad and not be on a diet.  Salads rock…especially if you put some fat on them so they digest more easily.

Comments are closed.

