Skip to content

Why Should I Change if I Like Who I Am?

January 9, 2008

About a week ago, when everyone in the office was trickling back in after their holiday vacations, two coworkers received a request from a local city magazine asking them what they would change in the new year.  Both coworkers are artists and work in arts administration.  One, who happens to be an incredibly pretty pear shape, said that she knew, of course, that they were talking about resolutions and that they should know better than to ask artists this question because the responses were bound to be snarky.  Her resolution for the new year was to avoid leaving dishes in the sink.

She asked me what I would change about myself in the new year.  My jaw-dropping response, “I like who I am.  Why should I change anything?”

Both women in the office with me were shocked into silence.  My office roomie looked at me and said, “Michelle, you’re weird.  Most people don’t like themselves and want to make changes.”

And to that I responded, “Maybe their new year change should be to learn to like themselves no matter what they consider to be their flaws.” 

I didn’t know jaws could drop through the floor…

Look y’all, people have been telling me my whole life that I needed to change to fit some societally designated paradigm.  Sure, I’m not always 100 percent when it comes to loving who I am.  I have good days and bad days, but my good days far outweigh my bad days.  And I do genuinely like who I am.  I worked hard to get to this place.  It was never easy, and there’s always more work to do, but it feels fabulous to say, “I like me,” and really mean it.

Comments are closed.

